

Journal Title: Telecommunication Journal

Journal Issue: vol. 53 (no. 11), 1986

Article Title: First Session of the African Broadcasting Conference: election of the chairmen and

vice-chairmen

Page number(s): p. 620

This electronic version (PDF) was scanned by the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) Library & Archives Service from an original paper document in the ITU Library & Archives collections.

La présente version électronique (PDF) a été numérisée par le Service de la bibliothèque et des archives de l'Union internationale des télécommunications (UIT) à partir d'un document papier original des collections de ce service.

Esta versión electrónica (PDF) ha sido escaneada por el Servicio de Biblioteca y Archivos de la Unión Internacional de Telecomunicaciones (UIT) a partir de un documento impreso original de las colecciones del Servicio de Biblioteca y Archivos de la UIT.

(ITU) للاتصالات الدولي الاتحاد في والمحفوظات المكتبة قسم أجراه الضوئي بالمسح تصوير نتاج (PDF) الإلكترونية النسخة هذه والمحفوظات المكتبة قسم في المتوفرة الوثائق ضمن أصلية ورقية وثيقة من نقلاً

此电子版(PDF版本)由国际电信联盟(ITU)图书馆和档案室利用存于该处的纸质文件扫描提供。

Настоящий электронный вариант (PDF) был подготовлен в библиотечно-архивной службе Международного союза электросвязи путем сканирования исходного документа в бумажной форме из библиотечно-архивной службы МСЭ.

First Session of the African Broadcasting Conference: election of the Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen

The First Session of the Regional Administrative Radio Conference for the planning of the UHF/VHF television broadcasting in the African Broadcasting Area and neighbouring countries AFBC(1) was opened on 22 September 1986 by the Minister of Information and Broadcasting of Kenya, Mr K. Ngala and attended by over 120 delegates from 38 countries and representatives from various international and regional organizations.

Organized by the International Telecommunication Union and held in Nairobi at the kind invitation of the Government of Kenya, the Conference lasted three weeks and closed on Friday 10 October.

At its first Plenary Session, the Conference elected Mr S. K. Chemai (Kenya) as its Chairman. The Vice-Chairmen are Messrs S. M. Ghandourah (Saudi Arabia), A. Toumi (Morocco) and F. Imounga (Gabon).

The Conference also established six Committees and an ad hoc Working Group of the Plenary and adopted their terms of reference. These Committees, their Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen and a summary of their terms of reference are as follows:

Committee 1—Steering Committee

The Chairman of the Steering Committee is the Chairman of the Conference, assisted by the Vice-Chairmen of the Conference and by the Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of the other Committees and of the ad hoc Working Group of the Plenary.

Terms of reference: to co-ordinate all matters connected with the smooth execution of work and to plan the order and number of meetings.

Committee 2—Credentials Committee

Chairman:

Mr F. Giroth (Mozambique)

Vice-Chairman:

Mr J. D. Hagenimana (Rwanda)

Terms of reference: to verify the credentials of delegations and to report on its conclusions to the Plenary.

Committee 3—Budget Control Commit-

Chairman:

Mr M. Ouhadj (Algeria)

Vice-Chairman:

Mr G. Anaroua (Niger)

Terms of reference: to examine and approve the accounts of expenditure incurred during the First Session of the Conference and to report to the Plenary Meeting the estimated total expenditure taking into account the financial implications of the decisions to be taken.

Committee 4—Technical Committee

Chairman:

Mr C. T. Ndiongue (Senegal)

Vice-Chairman:

Mr H. Y. Al-Kindy (Oman)

Terms of reference: to prepare the technical bases for the establishment by the Second Session to be held at a later date, of the frequency assignment plans for the television broadcasting service. Among the parameters to be taken into account are:

- the propagation characteristics in the VHF and UHF bands;
- the service areas of television stations;
- the optimum channel spacings and distribution;

- the basic characteristics of transmitting and receiving antennas

Committee 4 has established two Working Groups.

Committee 5-Planning Criteria and **Methods Committee**

Chairman:

Mr E. Kamdem-Kamga (Cameroon)

Vice-Chairman:

Mr D. F. Matavire (Zimbabwe)

Terms of reference: to define the planning principle and methods to be used by the Second Session for the elaboration of the frequency assignment plans and to determine the manner in which administrations shall present their frequency assignment requirements as well as the deadline for submission to the International Frequency Registration Board (IFRB).

Committee 5 has established two Working Groups to deal with the different items of its mandate.

Ad hoc Working Group of the Plenary

Chairman;

Mr K. C. Tiemele (Côte d'Ivoire)

Terms of reference: to establish a draft agenda for the Second Session to be submitted to the Administrative Council.

Committee 6—Editorial Committee

Chairman:

Mr H. Berthod (France)

Vice-Chairman:

Mr J. A. Prieto Tejeiro (Spain) Mr M. J. F. Chapuma (Malawi)

Terms of reference: to perfect the form of the texts prepared in the various committees of the First Session without altering the sense, for submission to the Plenary Meeting for approval.

The results of the Conference will be published in a forthcoming issue of the "Journal".